Hoodrich Bikelife

Everyone in bike life knows Mike Plasha, aka @hoodrichbikelife. This Philadelphia local is constantly riding and promoting positivity, and he can be found riding with his young kids on their SE bikes, too. Now that's a rad family! Photos by @bigbikefamily and @marklosey

Questions & Answers

What’s your full name? Mike Plasha. What's your Instagram? @hoodrichbikelife. My instagram name came from my clothing brand. I was looking for a name that represented what we’re about, and it’s always been about the young kids in the city and keeping them on the right path doing positive things. The name just popped and I ran with it. It’s about bringing a bigger value to my community and working with the kids to help them see their true worth and know that by working together we can make the whole “hood” rich. Not by money, but by all finding our true value and purpose. How old are you? I am 35 years old. Where do you live? Philadelphia, PA. What’s it like riding for SE Bikes? It's a dream come true for me. Getting sponsored by SE Bikes has opened so many doors for me to help better myself and the community around me. How did you get into bike life? I saw a small group of kids riding SE Bikes. Once @onewaykenny let me try his Fat Ripper I was hooked and got my first bike soon after. How far can you wheelie? My longest wheelie on video is around ten minutes. What’s the bike life scene like where you live? It's mostly younger kids and the style is all combos and wheelie tricks. What is your favorite thing about bike life? All the people I got to meet and traveling to all these different cities and countries. What’s the best rideout you’ve ever been on? It was the SE Hoedown. That was the first ride after getting sponsored and I got to meet the whole SE Crew. That rideout set the bar for what the future would be. Where is your favorite place to ride? When I’m home, Downtown Philly. But, my favorite place to travel is anywhere in California. How many SE bikes do you currently own? I currently own four: Fat Ripper, PK Ripper 27.5, an unreleased Fat Quad, and a 2017 Everyday. On top of the bikes my kids own, I’m kinda packed for space. How many followers do you have on Instagram? I currently have over 105K. What is your favorite SE bike? My favorite SE is definitely the Fat Ripper. Other than that, I would pick my 27.5 PK Ripper. Are you part of a riding crew? Yes, I’m in Oneway. What is a fun fact that people may not know about you? I wanted to be a pro skateboarder as a kid and now I did it with bikes. What advice would you give to someone getting into bike life today? Go have fun and don’t worry about getting sponsored or how good you are. Just enjoy the journey and see how far it can take you. What’s your secret to improving your riding skills? Be your own competition. It doesn’t matter what anyone else is doing. I just do my own thing and work to be better than I was before. Stay in your own lane. What would you be doing if you never found bike life? Most likely walking the streets looking at a GPS all day because I would be lost. 😂  Will you ever stop riding? I plan to ride until my body won’t let me anymore, and then stay involved in the scene some way. It’s called bike life for a reason, and that’s because it’s for life.