Merle Williams

Merle Williams is the newest rider to be added to the SE Crew! This Southern California resident has a unique style that blends aspects of bike life and freestyle for one heck of a ride! Photos by @yaweride.

Questions & Answers

What's your full name?
Merle Williams III.

How old are you?
I am 19 years old.

Where do you live?
I live in Carmel Valley, CA.

How did you get into bike life?
I got into bike life because of my dad. He is a key role in my bike life journey. He and I always just rode around San Diego doing wheelies until they came out with rideouts in San Diego.

Describe the type of riding you like to do.
The type of riding I like to do is freestyle riding or just a mixture of everything in one, from dirt jumps, pump tracks, street riding, skateparks, bowls, etc.

What's the bike life scene like where you live?
There is no bike life scene where I currently live at. I’m the only one you can catch in Carmel Valley doing wheelies down the street.

What is your favorite thing about bike life?
My favorite thing about bike life is the people that show up from parents to grandparents and kids, and that it includes everyone as a unit to just have fun and be around good energy and vibes.

What's the best rideout you've ever been on?
The best rideout I’ve ever been on was the Marina del Rey-Fiji Way SE Bikes rideout. I was 13 years old and this was my first ever rideout. I got to meet Todd Lyons and Dblocks. The best and most memorable rideout.

Where is your favorite place to ride and why?
My favorite place to ride is the San Diego Kearny Mesa Pump Track because this place brings out all my skills in one place, when it comes to jumps and balance and skill.

What SE bikes do you currently own?
I currently own the Monster Ripper 29”, The Prototype Monster Qaud 29”, and the DJ Ripper HD 26”.

How many followers do you have on Instagram?
I currently have 13.7K followers on instagram.

What is your favorite SE bike?
My favorite SE bike is the Monster Ripper because it can take a beating, and I like the frame geometry.

What is a fun fact that people may not know about you?
I am bilingual in Spanish.

What advice would you give to someone getting into bike life today?
Keep pushing and your dreams sooner or later will come true.

What's your secret to improving your riding skills?
My secret to improving my riding skills is SEAT TIME. You always need proper seat time in order to improve yourself and be the best version of yourself in order to have skills.

What would you do if you never found bike life?
I would end up riding dirt bikes somewhere or trying to become a professional skateboarder.

Will you ever stop riding?
I will never stop riding until my legs give out.